The MTV In Association With ABSOLUT Announces MAMAs Nominees

written by EatOut 17th April 2014


The 2014 MTV Africa Music Awards (MAMA) are set to be hosted in South Africa for the first time. The spectacular awards show and music celebration, in association with Absolut and sponsored by the KwaZulu-Natal Province, will be held at the International Convention Centre (ICC) in Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, on Saturday 7th June.

Celebrating the African musicians and achievers who have made the most impact on the contemporary music scene throughout the year, MAMA 2014 will feature thirteen different award categories including Best Male, Best Female and Best New Act.   The nominations for the awards will be revealed on 16 April 2014.  This year, new “lifestyle” awards will be added to the music categories, including the “Transform Today” award, sponsored by Absolut, which will celebrate the power of young individuals to transform the image of Africa through their creativity and vision.

This year’s Kenyan nominees include:

  • Sauti Sol – Best Group
  • Amani ft Radio and Weasel – ‘Kiboko Changu’ (Kenya/Uganda) – Best Collaboration
  • Amani ft Radio and Weasel – Personality of the Year

Absolut Vodka SHK Event  24th Aug 2013 (63) (683x1024)

Marc Beuve-Méry, Regional Director, Pernod Ricard East Africa, comments: “Each generation there are a handful of artists who leave a transformative mark; and the MTV Africa Music Awards most certainly celebrates those artists who are at the cutting-edge of the thriving music industry here on the African continent. As a brand Absolut has continuously pushed the boundaries of contemporary culture through creative collaborations with artists such as Andy Warhol, Spike Jonze and Swedish House Mafia. So we are thrilled to be associated with these awards that celebrate artists who define and transform the musical zeitgeist of Africa.”

First staged in 2008, the MTV Africa Music Awards has recognised the talent of musicians from across sub-Saharan Africa, rewarding iconic artists such as 2Face Idibia, Big Nuz, HHP, P-Square, Liquideep, Lira, Nameless, Wahu, Fally Ipupa, Cabo Snoop, Mo Chedda, Zebra & Giraffe and more.

The 2014 MTV Africa Music Awards will premiere on MTV Base (DStv Channel 322), MTV (DStv Channel 130) and other partner channels around the continent from June 2014.

For more information on the 2014 MTV Africa Music Awards, please go to mama.mtv.com or www.mtvbase.com.

You may also like

Leave a Comment